top of page

ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF MY NORTHEASTERN EXPERIENCE


There isn't one particular moment from this trip that I can say was my favorite. However, and perhaps rather oddly, some of my fondest experiences on this trip were on the bus rides between our accomodation and work sites. Unlike back in the US, during these rides nobody was on their phones or plugging their ears with headphones. Instead, we were all talking, laughing, sharing dreams, and discussing our experience with the brigade. It was in these genuine moments that I truly got to know my fellow brigaders.

This brigade inspired me to look further into the clinical side of medicine. It felt incredible to work with my hands to improve the wellbeing of the others. The medical staff we shadowed were brilliant and inspirational. More than anything, this trip also provided me invaluable perspective. It expanded my awareness outside of my life in the US to another, very different community with completely different circumstances. It underscored for me the importance of being multilingual and globally minded. This is a perspective I will carry with me into my career and the future professional and personal decisions I will make.

This trip gave me insight into both the worlds of medicine and global relief and is something I would recommend highly to people seeking those experiences. However, I would also recommend this trip to any of my fellow students as it widened my perspective of the world and taught me a number of valuable life lessons. Last but not least, as a result of this trip I've returned to Boston with 30+ incredible friends, and for that I am truly thankful. This brigade has been one of the highlights of my Northeastern experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone considering it.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page