top of page

AN ENCOMPASSING FEELING OF HOPE


Northeastern’s first medical brigade to Panama was easily one of the most amazing experiences of my life. We were able to help 692 patients in 3 days – numbers that continuously cycle through my head, and astonish those we speak to about the trip. There is an encompassing feeling of hope that comes from Global Brigades – these trips actually do make a difference.

Through fundraising and preparation, we provided healthcare access and education to people who truly needed it. Global Brigades trips work because of the organization’s holistic model, with different brigades building off of each other to reach a sustainable transition for each and every community they enter.

One of my favorite memories was during one of our public health days in Las Delicias, a rural mountain community, where we were working on a project to build latrines at every home. The owner of the home had a long discussion with us about how he and his wife had chosen to live in the rural area over Panama City, and how since we have visited once, we will always find a home there. This touching discussion is something I will always carry with me.

My experiences during this medical brigade made all of the coursework back in Boston worth it. Seeing a glimpse of a future career in medicine was energizing, and motivated me to finish the year on a strong note. I was so fortunate to have this experience – and I recommend it to any student interested in a healthcare-related field.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page